I samarbete med Svenska Ordensföreningen
Fritextsök medalj:


AmDFC: Distinguished Flying Cross   Förenta staterna (USA)

Instiftad år: 1926 Valör: Brons
Ytterligare information:
The Distinguished Flying Cross was established in 1926. From that time, until the outbreak of WWII it was used primarily to recognize the achievements of aviation pioneers. Charles Lindbergh and Amelia Earhart were among first to receive the award. In 1927 award of the DFC became restricted to military personnel. The DFC is awarded to Army, Coast Guard, Navy, Marine and Air Force aviators. The DFC is awarded for heroism or exraordinary achievement while participating in aerial flight. Army and Coast Guard awardees are typically helicopter pilots, but could also be aerostat (balloon, blimp, airship). Some Coast guard awardees fly. Recently the addition of Coast Guard personnel in fixed wing anti-drug/drug interdiction aircraft, fixed wing weather or transport/rescue aircraft (for instance hurricane watchers or transport/rescue at the poles) have expaned the pool of potential Coast Guard awardees. Similarly, Army FAC - Forward Air Controller, Close Air Support, and SIGINT -- Signals Intelligence mission aircraft have expanded the pool of potential Army awardees.


Uppladdad: 2007-09-12 04:27:36, av: PeO Sandberg.